Take The Island Adventure Tours

TripAdvisor

Check out some reviews from our past customers!

Take The Island Adventure Tours on TripAdvisor 

 

Customer Testimonials

Check out some of the feedback we've gotten from customers in the past!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“Excellent tour of the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 September 2015

I arranged a tour in advance by e-mail with Neil Harpham. It was all straight forward. Neil tailored an itinerary to suite our requirements. It was so much better than the tour offering from the cruise line. My wife and me met up with Neil (and his white Lincoln) at the cruise terminal, at the time agreed, no problems. Neil is a very personable and professional tour guide who really enjoys his job and is highly competent. We had a wonderful day. Neil seemed to know everybody on the island and took us to some great spots and we always managed to avoid the crowds - I don't think we saw another tour coach all day! The islanders we met were very friendly. It was probably the best day we had on our entire holiday tour of Canada/USA. Oh, and I forgot to mention that Neil's service include taking photos of us in the key locations and emailing them to us on our return to the UK. Overall, I can't rate this tour and Neil's part in it highly enough.


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Subject: Keeping in Touch from PEI

Date: Monday, August 31, 2015

 Hi Billy,


I just posted my review on Trip Advisor Today.  Thank you again for a great day.  We all loved our tour with you and thought you were the best tour company on our entire Canada Cruise.  Thanks so much.  I will be sure to recommend you to anyone traveling to PEI.

Michelle Kurtz

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Subject: Island Tour

Date: Wednesday, July 22, 2015

 

Hi Bill,

Just a note to tell you how much we enjoyed your tour if PEI.  It was such a treat for Jim, especially, to trace his roots and to actually be at the graveside of his great great grandfather.  You are amazing with all your knowledge and we so appreciated your researching the Dockendorff and Muttart family’s story.  We felt we had a good feel for the island and can understand your love for it.  Please thank your wife for the yummy cookies and cinnamon rolls.  Such a nice treat.

Thanks,

Gerrie Bunker

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Subject: A Great Time

Date: Tuesday, September 30, 2014

 

Hi Billy,

 

We are home, finally, after spending a couple of days post cruise in Boston.  We want to say again how much we enjoyed your tour, and also to extend our belated thanks to your wife for providing those delicious cookies and cinnamon rolls.  When we were back on board ship, we wished we’d taken a couple of cookies with us for later.  They were really good.  And those mussels at lunch were fantastic!  We liked all of the points of interest and were pleased to have covered so much while at a seemingly leisurely pace. 

 

We’ll think of you in winter working hard to keep the roads clear and in the summer delighting the tourists with your stories.

 

Best wishes always,

Joe & Helen

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 September 2014

We cruised on Holland America's Maasdam the second week of August. Wanting to get a more in depth and personalized tour of PEI, we decided to skip the ship tours and book this one based on previous reviews. We found two other couples to take the tour with us, although even if we were the only couple, it would have been more than worth it. Bill Murray outlined where he would be taking us, but we were free to change the itinerary to suit us. We didn't need to change a thing. My husband had been to PEI on a golf trip several years ago. He said he learned more about the island from Bill in the first ten minutes than he did in that entire week. However, it was the entire experience with Bill as our guide that made it so special. Bill was prepared for everything, from home baked goodies, fun props while we posed for memorable photos, souvenir pins, towels so we could wade at a beautiful beach, teaching us about mussel farming, and so much more. We visited a historical church, Province House, the Lieutenant Governor's residence where Will and Kate stayed on their visit, giant sand dunes at the beach, picturesque seaside cliffs, a historic hotel, the Anne of Green Gables site, and a wonderful studio gallery with unique local art. We saw eagle and osprey nests. I got all the flower photos I could ask for at the gardens we visited. When I had an urge for fish and chips, Bill took us to a local place to satisfy my craving! Prince Edward Island came alive through the stories Bill told us. His wife grew up on the island, so there is a lot of family history there. Speaking of family history, we visited North Rustico and met Emard Court, the 93 yr old former lobster fisherman who is a surviving member of the well known local Court family. He lives next to the lighthouse and loves to greet visitors. Our day was more than the places we went, and I haven't even listed them all. Bill had such passion for the island and it made our experience more than we could have hoped for.

Susie Lacroix
Austin, TX

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 “Great tour by a local!”

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked Neil Harpham for a tour of Charlottetown and the Confederation Bridge during a port stop in PEI. He met us in the terminal, right on time and made sure we were always comfortable in his town car. It's clear Neil loves PEI and we really enjoyed hearing his stories and so much about life on PEI. Neil is a wonderful photographer (his pictures of cruise ships are displayed at the entrance of the cruise terminal) and he took some wonderful photos of us during our tour. My elderly mother who is visually impaired was with us and Neil took extra good care of her. I would highly recommend Neil for a custom tour of PEI!

Visited August 2014

Sylvia Kwan

San Francisco

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: Maria Christou

Subject: Thank you

Date: Thursday, July 31, 2014

 

Dear Bill,

I like to thank you from the bottom of my heart, on the great sightseeing tours you gave my daughter Candy and I, i cant thank you enough. The amazing places you took us. Thank you lovely wife with those amazing, delicious cookies she made. I will highly recommend you, and i am hopefully will one day be back but for longer this time.

Your regards,

Maria Christou

PS Hopefully i will have a few pictures sent to you.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

“Great Private Tour of Prince Edward Island”

Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband and I were traveling to PEI by cruise ship into Charlottetown and wanted to see as much as possible in the short time we had. After doing some online research into private tours, I decided to reserve ahead of time with Take the Island Adventure Tours. We were fortunate enough to have Neil Harpham as our guide. Neil was wonderful! He has lived on PEI for over 40 years and definitely knows how to see a lot in a few hours. He was waiting for us at the cruise ship port and drove us basically around the entire central coast drive. Since Neil has a background in photography and our main goal was to take photographs of all the beautiful sights, he made sure to stop at some of his favorite places - including the dunes, rocks, and lighthouses in PEI National Park, Green Gables, beautiful farmlands, Confederation Bridge, red sands shore, and some little fishing villages - not to mention some gardens and historical sights in Charlottetown. We even had time for a quick lunch in a small café in Victoria - The Landmark Café - where we had the best mussels we have ever eaten! Neil has so many interesting stories - he truly is one of a kind! I would HIGHLY recommend this tour group, and you MUST REQUEST NEIL!!!

Visited July 2013

LISA B

ORLANDO

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: Siri Midthaug

Subject: Pictures from PEI, October 2007

Date: Friday, December 28, 2007

 To Billy Murray,

I don't know if you remember me right away, but I'm the Norwegian girl that you took to Cavendish and back, back in October – Thanksgiving Weekend.

I promised to send you some of the pictures I took. I do apologize that it has taken me so long before I do, but after I returned from PEI in October it took a bit longer than I had planned before I got my pictures developed, and by the time I got them, school was so busy and there was so much else to do and experience. So I decided that it was better to wait until Christmas. Then I would have time to really sit down a make a good selection of pictures to send.


I've returned home to Norway now as my exchange time in Canada is over. These months in Canada has given me experiences and memories and friends that I'll never forget. And I'm determined to come back one day.

I'm sending you a selection of 23 pictures that I feel give a good representation of the PEI that I got to visit. I had such an amazing time there in October and I hope that one day I'll be able to come back there too. I'm sure I will. Thank you so much for giving me such a service while I was there and showing me around. I'm very grateful!

Good luck with your taxi-service. And I hope my pictures will be useful to you.

Hope you had a merry Christmas, and wishing you a happy new year!

Best wishes,
Siri Midthaug

 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello Bill,

We got back to Florida with no problems; we lucked out with missing the storm Sandy.

I wanted to thank you for the great tour we had with you on Oct 26th. Your knowledge and love for PEI was evident in all you showed us. Ricky and I would love to come back to the Prince Edward sometime in the future and stay for a few days. I’m inclosing a few photos that we took while on tour with you. Your tour and PEI was one of the highlights of our cruise. You're a fabulous tour guide.

Sincerely, Jean Bottone 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi Bill,

We want to thank you for a very enjoyable tour of PEI. It was a fantastic day. We certainly enjoyed hearing all you had to share about the island.

We will be writing a positive review on Trip Advisor as soon as we get back to routine. After being gone for two weeks, just catching up with our mail is a huge chore.

Thanks again,
Mary and John

 

 ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 

 

 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------